*Do* Move to Estonia

Establishing some balance.

Aure's Notes
5 min readSep 13, 2022
Photo by Jaanus Jagomägi on Unsplash

A previous article I wrote called “Don’t move to Estonia” has been bothering me since it went viral.

While my assessment of the Estonian (expat) life seemed to have stricken a chord with the audience, it wasn’t exactly fair.

For the uninitiated, the article gave a gloomy and dark picture of Estonia, which does not accurately reflect what it is like to live here.

What I did wasn’t cool. I should not have criticized a country that kindly welcomed me like Estonia did.

I shouldn’t have complained like I did. And I definitely should not have whined like I did either.

I wrote this article on a day I was feeling low to vent some feelings.

It was a mistake. The content of the article itself is so low-value that I didn’t expect anyone to read it — less even share it.

So I owe an apology to everyone that read it and felt offended. As a commenter justly observed, I have no right to blame my own shortcomings on an entire country, less even on one that has given me as much as Estonia did.

Had I been a reader, I would have politely told the writer to get the f*** out if they didn’t like the place they were living in.

--

--

Aure's Notes

2X Msc in pol. science and business econ. Summarized +100 books. 25k people read auresnotes.com. From Belgium. No niche.